saint-louise's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Candy, Candy, Candy, I can't let you go.

What is it, exactly, about candy corn? I never think about them. I never crave them and seek them out. And yet, when I see some � which happens often around Halloween � I am absolutely compelled to eat them.

I will not walk by. That�s impossible. Sheesh. I eat them. A whole handful. And then I�m overcome with nausea at how sweetsweetCHOKINGSWEET they are.

One of my co-workers has a whole bunch in a jar at the edge of her desk, and her desk is on a row that I have to walk by repeatedly throughout the day when I need to get to the other side of our office building.

I stopped there today to get some candy corn. My co-worker turned to me, presumably because she thought I was at her desk for something work-related, instead of the much more important task of attending to the candy corn siren song.

�Oh, don�t mind me,� I said, grabbing a healthy handful of the candy and popping some into my mouth. �I�m just here for sugar.�

She smiled benignly, even though I knew deep down inside she was most likely a spawn of lucifer, wanting to destroy the world with her diabolically yucko candy. �Yes, a lot of people have stopped by for those. They�re kind of popular.�

�Huh,� I said, chomping away. �Weird. �Cause candy corn? Is disgusting.�

Her smile wavered a bit. She nodded, and I would have thought it was an uncertain gesture, if it weren�t for the fact that she was handing out an addictive substance like it was�um�candy.

I put a few more into my mouth as I continued, �Horribly gross, really. Like damp, sugared chalk. Just, you know�revolting.�

I grabbed another handful, thanked her pleasantly, and walked away.

Candy heroin. I would say �candy crack� - you know how writers dig those silly little parlor tricks like alliteration - but not only can�t I get past the imagery of the phrase, I don�t even want to be in the same hemisphere with it.

In other news: Halloween is coming. It's time for me to try to think of a costume to wear to a party that doesn't exist, and even if it did I wasn't invited. Then I'll toy with idea of having my own party. Then I'll get really tired and put the whole thing out of my mind. Then, on Halloween, I'll end up sitting at home, eating trick-or-treat candy out of the bowl, ignoring the doorbell, and watching zombie movies.

I've got a lot to prepare for. I'd better get cracking.

12:14 p.m. - 2004-09-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halfdevoured
fadein
tvzero
rumblelizard
redblur
chichester
cuppajoe
bettinas
peth
sooner
tattoobelly
weetabix
thecritic
ladeeleroy
skim
anniewaits
marn
sundry
jamiestar
discothekid
ann-frank
weeme
twelvebeer
imjustsayin
slummyjelly
blueasatick
thefelineone
betabitch
jeffy
bigsabu
boymonkey
fu-fu
imthecat
mllerewind
rudey
valueape
vulturebait
mfoxm
heckafresh

all entries copyright 2000- 2005 by
saint louise (b. land)