saint-louise's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A century hence, the world will be populated by overweight, jittery geeks.

It�s amazing how sometimes people cannot escape the urges of their inherent nature. Galvanized in an instant, muscles taut, eyes keen and determined, they catch the scent of their prey the moment they are within range.

Or maybe it�s less like instincts and more like the collective mind of the masses, gathering strength in increasing numbers as it rumbles along. Happy, happy juggernaut.

I know you think I�m going to write about something serious again, and to that I say, �Fffft!� And�I cannot think of any more to say to it than that. At least, for the time being. Give me about an hour, another cup of coffee, and any inane, work-related request, and I�ll find something else to say about that so quickly, you�ll be stunned � nay, BLINDED � by my proficiency for delayed reaction fueled by hostility of a completely unrelated nature.

But see, my intro to this entry only comes down to this: one of my co-workers sent out an email that said, �Hey, I brought doughnuts! Come get some.� Five seconds after I read the message, an entire herd of programmers stampeded past me, lowing, �Doooooooughnuts!�, their legs obscured by dust and office debris. I hid under my desk and suppressed the urge to whoop, �Whooooo doggies!�

(Because, you know, the stereotyped cowboy in my ancestry is sometimes a little excitable.)

What is it, exactly, about sugar, pizza, and highly-caffeinated soft drinks that has become the very soul and motivating factor for a good portion of the geek population out there?

Do they love these things because they are geeks and they are supposed to? If they don�t find them compelling, are they hissed at by other geeks, or do they get the �NOT ONE OF US� pod people treatment?

Or to they crave these things because they derive true satisfaction from them?

Hmmm�

I�m motivated by pizza.

Then again, I�m also motivated by geeks.

There�s something disturbing going on. I�m pretty sure. Once I�ve found my center of crankiness, I�ll be sure to delayed react to it.

10:37 a.m. - 2004-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halfdevoured
fadein
tvzero
rumblelizard
redblur
chichester
cuppajoe
bettinas
peth
sooner
tattoobelly
weetabix
thecritic
ladeeleroy
skim
anniewaits
marn
sundry
jamiestar
discothekid
ann-frank
weeme
twelvebeer
imjustsayin
slummyjelly
blueasatick
thefelineone
betabitch
jeffy
bigsabu
boymonkey
fu-fu
imthecat
mllerewind
rudey
valueape
vulturebait
mfoxm
heckafresh

all entries copyright 2000- 2005 by
saint louise (b. land)