saint-louise's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overcompensation: now almost an art form!

I�m down.

Down down down down down.

Down dooby doo down down.

Comma comma down dooby doo down down.

And, of course, this is extremely frustrating. I went through bouts of debilitating downness when I was a teenager, which I�m sure was somewhat normal for that particular time period. You know, when hormones and machine-gun brain synapses and lordknowswhutall were roaming about inside of me, moping about where they came from, why they were there, what the purpose of life was, why gawd hated them, why they couldn�t get superneat guys to notice them, and how to consume mass quantities of fried foods faster. I was relatively comfortable with this role defined for me by my inner idiot, ironically enough. Although I might not have admitted it openly, it seemed like the right thing to be doing at the time.

Nowadays, the downness does nothing more than piss me right the fuck off.

I don�t feel like doing anything (even though I have to). I don�t feel like eating much (although I need to). I don�t relish social interactions (� okay, no surprise there). No prospects or events or concepts excite me � not music, books, writing, parties, or travel. I�m�void.

I can�t find the energy to fix it. And I really don�t know how to fix it, even if the energy is artificially created through caffeine, exercise, and mentally berating myself for being such a goddamned pussy about everything. This lack of focus, more than the downness itself, is what incenses me. I am feeling sorry for myself, right?

Did you hear that? Feeling. Sorry. For. Myself.

Nnnngh! Errrg! Feeeeh! And other unintelligible comments signifying frustration that is impossible to put into real words!

I feel as though I�m unappreciated. I perceive that I am expected to do things that I cannot refuse without appearing to be selfish. And, above all, I just want to be left alone.

I realize that feelings and perceptions are somewhat valid points, and couple nicely with rational thought and action. This doesn�t keep me from considering them to be � for the most part � just silly. When there is sufficient evidence to debunk the sources of sorry-for-myself and downness, feelings and perceptions are STUPID.

Here�s the fun part: This only applies to me. Therefore, everyone else is justified in feeling stressed, unhappy, and cranky. I am not.

Nnnngh! Et al!

But, as it has since I was six years old and first put pencil to paper on my own time, writing about it helps. It really helps, in a way that no one else seemed to understand when they saw the boxes and folders and stacks of notebooks that I accumulated over the years, containing short stories, books, personal experiences, and games that I had written.

I will not, however, write about my downness in this format again. There is enough meandering, bullshit whining on the in-ter-net without me adding to the heap. Instead, I�m going to write about a few particularly jagged edges from my life. Things that need to be rolled over, buffed up, and put away. I plan to tackle this in as matter-of-fact a manner as possible � and, as I am prone to do, with a fair amount of mocking humor � but you will realize that the cleansing process always involves uncovering some unpleasant filth.

Maybe I�ll get lucky and I�ll be able to scoop it all into a lump and make an obscene sculpture out of it.

11:09 a.m. - 2005-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halfdevoured
fadein
tvzero
rumblelizard
redblur
chichester
cuppajoe
bettinas
peth
sooner
tattoobelly
weetabix
thecritic
ladeeleroy
skim
anniewaits
marn
sundry
jamiestar
discothekid
ann-frank
weeme
twelvebeer
imjustsayin
slummyjelly
blueasatick
thefelineone
betabitch
jeffy
bigsabu
boymonkey
fu-fu
imthecat
mllerewind
rudey
valueape
vulturebait
mfoxm
heckafresh

all entries copyright 2000- 2005 by
saint louise (b. land)