saint-louise's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Next up: full-contact gift-wrapping.

I�d like to try something new, in order to put a bit more variety into what I write here. Each Monday, I will either ask someone from Diaryland, or take an unsolicited suggestion, for what topic I should write about. Some experience from my childhood. Music. My most recent vacation. Whether cladistics or the Linnean system is the most accurate and efficient form of categorization for life forms. You know: interesting stuff.

I had taken a suggestion from my brother to write about trick-or-treating stories from my past. This came well before Halloween, but � as we all know � I�m a big jerkface mcjerk, and I cannot seem to update with any regularity. So I�ll let that one rest for the time being, and come back to it when the earth has made nearly a full pass around the sun. I�ve set my alarm clock for it.

Anyway, I�ll give it another go on Monday. Let�s see how long this lasts, shall we?

I have such faith in myself. I know you all do, too.

I went scouting for a fake Christmas tree yesterday. When I informed the offspring that I wanted to go with the falsies from now on, she was aghast.

�But�I like the real trees!� she said, gazing at me with doe eyes. �I like the smell of them. And with a fake tree you don�t get to water it!�

Get to water it? I had to remind myself a) she�s eight years old and doesn�t realize how the novelty of almost any situation can wear thin within minutes (maybe if I got an outhouse, she�d get the point?), and b) she doesn�t actually �get� to water the tree anyway. Therefore, her statement should have been more along the lines of: �And with a fake tree I don�t get to watch � on a nightly basis � as you sprawl on the floor, inch your way commando-style under the branches, shove them upward and then look with panic at the wavering tree, wondering if it is going to come crashing down, wrench your wrist sideways trying to force the cup of water through the branches to get to the tree stand, pour the entire cup out, muttering obscenities just low enough that I can�t quite make out what�s being said, check the water level in the stand and realize that you�ve poured a good 80% of the water on the carpet outside of the stand, give one really loud, half-edited curse along the lines of �son of a crapstick, DAMN it all, DAMNDAMN,� and then emerge with a head full of needles to start the process all over again.�

And, if that�s the case, I can kind of see her point of view. I�d get a kick out of watching someone else do that, too. It must be the mean streak in both of us.

Genetics. What a wonderful thing.

I can only imagine the glee she must feel as she watches me trying to remove the dead, needle-shedding tree from our home after New Year�s Day.

So, looking for the fake tree, I came across the perfect specimen.

Eight feet tall. Perfect. Check.
Noble fir-style. Perfect. Check.
Two hundred fifty dollars. Piss off. Check.

I stood in front of the trees on display, and swore fiercely at them. I didn�t realize how strange this was for me to do, until I noticed that other customers were staring at me. It seemed like the right action at the time. After all, the inanimate plastic of the trees was most certainly to blame for the high price. Obviously.

I�m going to do some more scouting, since I�m fairly certain that part of the cost of the tree had to do with the fact that it was pre-lit. However, I realize that purchasing the fakey (meaning false, not backward � am I hip yet?) will save me so much more money over the years.

I just haven�t convinced the miserly part of me of that truth. She wants her money and to eat it, too. Mmmm. Roughage.

Or maybe she�s also a big fan of the commando-tree-watering ritual.

12:56 p.m. - 2003-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halfdevoured
fadein
tvzero
rumblelizard
redblur
chichester
cuppajoe
bettinas
peth
sooner
tattoobelly
weetabix
thecritic
ladeeleroy
skim
anniewaits
marn
sundry
jamiestar
discothekid
ann-frank
weeme
twelvebeer
imjustsayin
slummyjelly
blueasatick
thefelineone
betabitch
jeffy
bigsabu
boymonkey
fu-fu
imthecat
mllerewind
rudey
valueape
vulturebait
mfoxm
heckafresh

all entries copyright 2000- 2005 by
saint louise (b. land)