saint-louise's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Off we go, into the tame, almost-Canadian yonder...

I�m nervous about something, even though I�m not feeling particularly anxious. I can tell this because I don�t feel like eating. At all. Even sweet things. Even sushi. Even malai kofta, medium spicy, with naan and a glass of wine.

Okay, maybe the wine sounds good.

See? Nervous.

Or�uh, an alcoholic.

I think it�s because I�m going to be traveling � leaving tomorrow morning � and I haven�t prepared at all. When I�m traveling alone, being relatively unprepared is okay. But since the offspring is going with me, I feel like I can�t forget ANYTHING. Like no matter where I�m actually going, I must be as equipped as though I were entering the Siberian Tundra, which is appallingly short on convenience stores, fast food restaurants, and video game shops. Shhh. Don�t tell Taylor. She may go into shock.

What if it�s cold weather? Must remember her coat, and some sweaters.

What if she gets a cold? Must not forget cold medicine.

What if she falls off of a cliff into a ravine that she can�t climb out of, and is menaced by territorial wildlife? I�d better pack the rappelling gear, and some Beastie-Be-Gone.

What if she gets bored? Better brush up on my Advanced Clich� for Parents.

�Repeat after me: �When I was a kid, we read when we were bored.�
Good!
Now: �Don�t make me stop this car.�
Excellent! If you�ve mastered this abstract threat of vague consequences, you�re almost a pro!�

After I�ve dealt with the traveling bit, I�ll be within sight of Ontario for a week. Last time this happened, you may recall, I annoyed amused my family by pointing out all of the Canadian things I saw: �Look, a Canadian stoplight! Look, a Canadian skate kid! LOOK! A Canadian dog pissing on a Canadian lamp post!�

The only way to get me to cease and desist is to acknowledge how screamingly irritating thoroughly entertaining I am being. Sort of like when my older brother used to pull furniture over onto himself and stay that way until someone remarked on his dumbassity. I think the record was an hour and fifteen minutes, with various family members stepping over him in the hallway where he was lying motionless with an armchair pinning him to the carpet. I believe the only reason it ended was because someone stubbed his or her toe on the chair. (What is it about stubbing your toe that makes you want to scream at anyone nearby?)

So, I guess it�s genetic. My family is nothing if not tenacious in overt idiocy.

At any rate, I�m off to the traverse the Land of Many Lakes via Rock City.

Wish me luck.

2:47 p.m. - 2004-05-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halfdevoured
fadein
tvzero
rumblelizard
redblur
chichester
cuppajoe
bettinas
peth
sooner
tattoobelly
weetabix
thecritic
ladeeleroy
skim
anniewaits
marn
sundry
jamiestar
discothekid
ann-frank
weeme
twelvebeer
imjustsayin
slummyjelly
blueasatick
thefelineone
betabitch
jeffy
bigsabu
boymonkey
fu-fu
imthecat
mllerewind
rudey
valueape
vulturebait
mfoxm
heckafresh

all entries copyright 2000- 2005 by
saint louise (b. land)