saint-louise's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2003 - Didn't See the Best of Me

And now, the Saint Louise Awards for the Year 2003.

The award for Person Who Changed My Life the Most goes to: OH

The award for Worst Overall Month goes to: There was a tie between March and April.

The award for the Best Overall Month goes to: Any of them, as long as they aren�t March or April.

The award for Person I Miss Most Terribly goes to: Mlle Rewind

The award for Best Trip of 2003 goes to: Seattle � September

The award for the Trip That Sucked Ass in a Big Way goes to: New York/Boston � October

The award for the Biggest Regret of 2003 goes to: My complete and utter lack of writing motivation.

(Runner up: Neglecting to stay more connected to all of my friends.)

The award for Most Patience With Louise�s Crankypants goes to: The offspring.

(Close runners up: OH, and my mother.)

Needless to say, 2003 wasn�t exactly one of my banner years, in a personal accomplishment and growth sense. Even the Award for Greatest Achievement had to be completely omitted due to lack of valid nominations.

Eh. Better this year. Better this year.

Or�maybe that was bitter this year�

I don�t really care for resolutions, for the one really good reason that I also don�t really care for excuses. But as far as what I would like to accomplish this year (sans the �official� resolution title), let�s go with: dig myself close to halfway out of debt, and publish two or more articles, essays, or short stories.

That should hold me pretty well for twelve months, I think.

Maybe I should add things like trying to stay fully conscious at work and school more often, and ensuring that at least 50% of my daughter�s meals are NOT frozen dinners, sandwiches or cold cereal�

That may be aiming a little high, though.

Now, let me see. Some things that have occurred in the past few weeks (other than ten assloads of snow being dumped all over my life, like so much fecal matter on the dashboard of a 1958 Plymouth Fury)�

* I contracted the Black Death. Or, more accurately, the Pale, Sniffling Death With Disheveled Hair and Bad Breath, Begging You to Kill It and Put It Out of Its Agony (the Respiratory Strain). Yeah, that Death. I got it, baby. During finals, even. Fucking righteous.

* The offspring received a new game system for Christmas. I haven�t had a full conversation with her for almost three weeks.

* I got walled in by Lord of the Rings fans at work for days at a time. Again. Hey, I like the story as much as the next geek, but please, people. For the love of god. You don�t have to camp out to see a movie. For a while there, it started to look like Russian bread lines were forming. Let�s remember our priorities. And the fact that I�m extraordinarily short tempered and would like to get out of the parking garage with relative ease and as few casualties at my grill as possible (the latter isn�t mandatory for my purposes).

Yer doin� a good job, crouton.

4:36 p.m. - 2004-01-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halfdevoured
fadein
tvzero
rumblelizard
redblur
chichester
cuppajoe
bettinas
peth
sooner
tattoobelly
weetabix
thecritic
ladeeleroy
skim
anniewaits
marn
sundry
jamiestar
discothekid
ann-frank
weeme
twelvebeer
imjustsayin
slummyjelly
blueasatick
thefelineone
betabitch
jeffy
bigsabu
boymonkey
fu-fu
imthecat
mllerewind
rudey
valueape
vulturebait
mfoxm
heckafresh

all entries copyright 2000- 2005 by
saint louise (b. land)